And the winners of the 2014 Art McDonald Scholarship are…

And the winners of the 2014 Art McDonald Scholarship are…

ProTransport-1 is pleased to announce the two 2014 Art McDonald Educational Scholarship winners are Devyn Wells and Cheryl Lingbanan. Congratulations to both for the hard work and dedication to the company as well as commitment to furthering their education in the healthcare industry!

Early this month both winners were invited to company headquarters in Cotati to be presented the awards by President Elena Whorton and CEO Mike Sechrist. Most importantly, Art’s wife, and current ProTransport-1 employee, Audrey McDonald, was also in attendance to discuss how much the award means to her and to the legacy of Art’s commitment to the healthcare industry and the importance of education.

Devyn is an EMT from Station 4-12 who has been working for the company since February 2011. She currently has 3,734 C.A.R.E.® points and is pursuing her Bachelor of Nursing degree at California State University, Stanislaus.

Devyn previously earned her B.S. in Psychology from UC Davis in 2009 and her NREMT from Woodland Community College in 2010.

Cheryl has been an EMT for ProTransport-1 since August 2010 out of Station 51. Since that time, she has accumulated a whopping 5,032 C.A.R.E.® points. To continue a long list of academic achievements, Cheryl is currently enrolled in the Phlebotomy Technician Program at Fast Response School of Health Care Education in Berkeley.

Prior to enrolling in the phlebotomy technician program, Cheryl earned her B.S. in Health Sciences from UC Santa Cruz in 2005, a certificate from the Medical Institute Program from Georgetown University in 2005 and a post-baccalaureate certificate from Lake Erie College (PA) in 2007. In 2009, she successfully completed the EMT program at Fast Response School of Health Care Education before joining PT-1.

The Art McDonald Educational Scholarship was established to honor Mr. McDonald’s vision of the value of education in healthcare services. Over the years, recipients of the scholarship include current ProTransport-1 paramedics and company leadership.

Two $2,000 scholarships were awarded to Devyn and Cheryl for presenting the most outstanding applications that included: a two-page personal essay explaining their dedication to the industry, assessment of job performance, school transcripts and test scores, three letters of reference, along with extracurricular activity involvement in the community.